Notion is a great tool to write, plan, and organize your tasks. Making it excellent to manage data for your projects and control any aspect of your life — powering over 1 million users since 2019.

But even with the best tools of the world, your project might go off the rails and fail. And you’d need to start over from scratch.

There’s nothing wrong with this. Sometimes, it’s better to burn everything down and get a fresh start.

And if you use Notion, you can do this easily in a few steps.

Deleting Your Workspace Step-By-Step

Erasing all your Notion workspace is hard to do by accident — but it doesn’t mean it’s obvious.

Still, the procedure is simple and easy to remember. Here are the three simple steps you need to follow:

1. Head to your Notion workspace. And in the left bar, hit the “settings & members” button.

Settings in Notion
Settings in Notion

2. Here, you’ll be able to manage and control everything related to your workspace, including notifications, members, rules, and so on. To find the option to delete your workspace, click on the “Settings” option again.

delete workspace notion
Delete workspace notion

3. Scroll down and find the “Delete entire workspace” button. When you click on it, it will ask you to type the name of your workspace to avoid mistakes.

delete workspace
Delete workspace

And that’s it. Doing this will erase everything on your workspace, and you’ll never see its content again on your Notion account.

After this, you’ll get redirected to another workspace after deleting it, and you’ll be free to create a new one from scratch.

The Difference Between Deleting and Leaving a Workspace

Now, when you’re working with a team on your project. There’s also the option to leave the workspace, which has many key differences.

First off, deleting means that all the content within the workspace will no longer exist. So if you confuse one with another, you might end up deleting all your team’s progress instead of leaving the project.

On the other hand, leaving a project means that you’re just no longer working on a project (and your team can still use the workspace), and it will only remove your profile as a member from the workspace.

These are the key differences:

1. Deleting removes all the content in the workspace and kicks all the members in it. While leaving will only take you out of the workspace without touching the data.

2. When you leave a workspace, you can later tell a member to re-add you if you want to go back. While deleting is irreversible.

3. Deleting is useful when you want to restart everything from scratch or abandon a failed project completely.

4. You leave a workspace when you’re not an admin and no longer working on that project.

5. Both options will remove the workspace from your homepage.

When you work with a team, make sure you understand that the workspace is a shared space and that deleting it would affect the others.

How to Recover Your Workspace After Deleting It

If you accidentally delete a workspace or changed your mind, you can reach out to support to recover your workspace since Notion always keeps a backup of your data on their database.

To do this, go to any workspace in your account. Click on the “?” icon at the bottom-right side of the page, and select “send us a message”. You’ll be able to chat with a support agent that will help you recover your data.

notion support
Notion support

However, take into account that these backups only last 30 days. So you only have 1 month to change your mind — or else there won’t be a way back.

Leverage Notion with Automation

Notion doesn’t have many integrations or automation options as you might need. So if your team works on Trello and you have all your tools on Notion, you can’t do much about it.

As an alternative, you can leverage third-party software to integrate Notion with any other app of your convenience.

For example, here’s what you can do with Automate.io:

1. DM your teammates on Slack after finishing or assigning a task.

2. Update a Trello card when updating an item on Notion—allowing you to work on both platforms simultaneously.

3. Update or add a lead on Salesforce whenever you update or add a page on Notion.

4. Create a new row on Google Sheet on a new Notion page.

If your team works on another platform, but you want to bring everything to a personal Notion workspace, you can do it by integrating Notion with those apps.

The possibilities are many, and your only limit is your creativity!